I don’t want to hear excuses, I want to hear solutions….

If we could all live by this. It has gotten me a good bit farther in life and co-workers and bosses really appreciate it without even realizing it is being done for them. It is a totally teachable method, even on 7 and 8 year olds. I actually use it on my kids. They now know when the excuses start flowing, I put a finger up to stop the rant and even start to open my mouth, they say “I know what you are going to say….I don’t want to hear excuses, I want to hear solutions” Well that is easy enough, so we begin the process of brainstorming and figuring out what can be done to fix things. Placing blame or excuses doesn’t get you any closer to the end game, it’s irrelevant to moving forward, so skip the step, skip the acid emotions and get to the solution already. Yes this is easier said than done, I know, and it takes practice. Scary how many times in one day you can catch yourself, but once you break the old habit and start using this technique, it will make you not only a more productive person but a happier one as well. Try it today!

~ by debt2dreams on April 13, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
