Small Acts of Kindness–Make your own day

You always hear the phrase, “it is better to give than to receive”. Don’t ask a 6 year old child that at Christmas :-), but I am talking about adults. And in most cases the phrase fits. So taking that into account, they say if you are feeling glum, stressed, whatever, doing something nice….doesn’t have to be big, can make you feel better, more so than the recipient. I was the recipient of that yesterday, it made me feel great, and I believe the guy was feeling 10 feet tall, and it really was nothing but thoughtfulness on his part. We were at the Y yesterday for Homework Buddies. We came in and at the table there was a Publix guy, he was doing paperwork as well as our Retiree volunteer that does the Homework with my kids. We had just come from school, we were at a function and I got “pinned”, a program we do for our volunteers where the kids make cards, and the cards and pin are given to the classroom hero volunteer. Anyway, earlier in the week an article regarding our program was in the newspaper, it was an awesome article, great picture, headline, etc. I was talking to the retiree and said, yes I will take her paper from Tuesday because I was going to laminate the article for the participants in the pictures from school. We went on and the guy was continuing to work and the kids were loud etc. I said to the guy, “you probably aren’t getting much done”, he said “actually it was great to work with no interruptions”, I shook my head in agreement because I totally knew what he was talking about. He went on to say that he didn’t mean to eavesdrop but he heard that I was looking for papers, he had called his store, checked with his people and made sure they held back the papers he had left from Tuesday, he had twelve papers, that I could go by and pick them up. How nice was that? It was so thoughtful and the papers didn’t mean anything to him. The kids were excited and jumping down and I was saying thank you and the guy was grinning ear to ear. I am sure when he came to the Y he had no intentions of doing nothing but getting his paperwork done but along with getting his paperwork done, he got a nice jolt of happiness thrown in. And it doesn’t hurt that I won’t forget what a nice thing that was and I will make sure I go to his Publix and let everyone I know, know what I nice thing he did.

Be aware of what is around, you never know what little thing can make someone else’s day.

~ by debt2dreams on March 30, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
