Can you freeze fresh carrots? NO, you can’t.

Okay, so I knew in the back of my head that you cannot normally freeze fresh vegs without first blanching them. Some how I had picked that up along the way in my life experience. Well purely by accident I now know what happens to fresh carrots if you try to freeze them. Needless to say it can get crazy in our house in the mornings, especially if I don’t do lunch prep the night before. The other day I was in a hurry and I put an almost full 2 lb bag of baby whole carrots into the freezer instead of the frig…..grrrr. Later that day, I see the bag of carrots in the freezer, it took me a 1/2 a second to figure out that there was no one to blame in the house except myself. I knew they were probably ruined but I didn’t know what happens to them so I put them in the frig as an experiment. Finally after 2 days they thawed out, got brown and squishy. One of life’s little mysteries has been answered for us all.

~ by debt2dreams on March 29, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
