Medco….Interesting they Substitute Brand Name Drugs for Generic….

Yes, you read that right, we had to change medical plans with my husband’s work and got a new prescription company, they offered mail order scripts. I have never had an issue with generic before but have found out that I have bad side affects to a generic form of a drug I will unfortunately have to take for the rest of my life. I am new to this, mail order was relatively cheaper than going to the pharmacy and they would dispense 3 months where as the local pharmacy would only give 30 days at a time even with a 90 day written prescription. I got my first shipment this week. Low and behold, the bottle said Levathorixin (Synthyroid). Needless to say I was not happy since I was getting low on my pills and would run out before they got me a new shipment. I called Medco and they actually put me on the line with the Pharmacist. She directed me to open the bottle and see if the pill actually said Synthyroid on it, it did! She explained that they actually replace Generic with name brand in certain drugs and if you order generic you will still get the name brand without the price. What a pleasant surprise! She said just be sure to call to confirm that the generics are still name brand replaced but how awesome is that, it will be worth the call. Score one for Mail Order, it saves both time and money.

~ by debt2dreams on March 3, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
