Getting Things Done Tip–Going through Papers

This was an eye opener for me.  When I first read this simplistic approach, it wasn’t registering and I was thinking to myself that this wouldn’t help me plow through the piles and piles of paperwork that I have allowed to accumulate in my office.  I took the advice of staying focused and taking the next physical action needed to tackle my big project.  And went with a big box of papers.  Everything in the box went into 1 of 3 areas, the first Actionable, I need to do something with this, put it into my basket.  The second was filing, or I believe they used the title future reference.  I used a hanging file folder organizer I got for Christmas, hung it on my filing cabinet and just started putting things in it, to be filed at a later time.  The last would be recycling/shredder.  That’s it??  That easy?  Only 3 such areas?  Yes, I can vouch for this system.  What is crazy, I had to empty shredder/recycling twice and well on the way to the third.  My smallest pile?  Actionable, mostly the receipts that I need to confirm I have recorded for taxes.  This is where I de-railed and made my mistake, I combined the filing with the actionable and all the important stuff would get mixed in with the “deadwood” and it would overwhelm me and nothing would get done.  Now I know better.  Don’t be intimidated anymore by that daunting task of “cleaning your desk”.  Dive right in and in no time you will see the progress.

Let us know how you keep your desk clean.

~ by debt2dreams on February 15, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
