A Grocery Store Map–A better solution to the old grocery list

Have you ever circled around, circled back, went down the same aisle more than 3 times in one store trip?  The other day this happened to me.  The frustration level was through the ceiling and my inefficiency drove me bananas.  So I came home and got onto Excel, created some thin boxed columns to make my “aisles” and started on my list and placing roughly where they are in the store.  My next trip to the store I will confirm/fix locations so I have an accurate accounting for all the items.  Of course, I will forget items and will have to go back and add, but at least it gives me a framework to start.  This map is also helpful since it is now the shopping list, circle the items as you need them, or run through the pantry/frig/freezer prior to going to the store can save return trips through the rest of the week. I fit 2 diagrams on an 8 1/2 X 11 sheet.

If you want my template shoot me an email and I will be happy to pass along the diagram.  I have already hand-written 3 things into the map that I forgot and will update my map after I make my first trip to the store to confirm the locations.  That would be a great idea for Publix, they have a grocery list feature on their website, it would be even better if they mapped the store for you, talk about efficient and shopper friendly.

~ by debt2dreams on February 9, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
