Stop Worrying about Money Series–College Costs

To continue and wrap up the the stop worrying series, where we are discussing the Suze Orman article, link below.  Here is the next area that she discussed.

College Costs:  This section is short but sweet.  I tend to agree with her but I ask a few more questions and get down to what is happening with the finances and if it is a question of choice or priority.  Suze states if it is the either your retirement OR saving for the kids college, pick the retirement everyday.   It is true, I agree, you need to have an investment plan in place so that you are financially secure for years to come as to not become a burden on your kids down the road.   I guess I am a living example of this scenario, I paid my own way through 7 years of college, got out debt free with no loans and/or scholarships.  My parents didn’t have a college plan for me, I decided to go, I made a plan, I put it together and I worked hard for my college education.  Thankfully my parents focused on their retirement, and I won’t have to worry about them as they continue to grow older.  For my kids, it is in the back of my mind that they may or may not go to college.  I personally am focusing on my investment plan because push comes to shove I can use my “extra” investment plan money to funnel off money to the kids to off-set college costs, but I will only do this if the plan is going as it should and returns and income off the plan exceed what our future needs will be.

http://www.oprah.com/money/Suze-Orman-on-the-Value-of-Your-Home-and-Stock-Portfolio/1

~ by debt2dreams on February 6, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
