Implementing Change not just reading about it

It is a new year and a new decade and people have all sorts of plans for making things better. Whether it be exercise, money, relationships, stress, time management, diet they can all be looked at in the same frame of reference. Meaning, those issues are mostly interchangeable when it comes to our ability/inability to conquer what ails us. I can say, I for one usually jump right in if I see a headline that is going to “help” me on any one of the above mentioned areas. I read an article a while back regarding someone talking on this subject and why people devour this info but very seldom people implement changes. The article, I can’t for the life of me find it again, but it has been tossing around in my head now for at least a couple of months. In the article it spoke about the motivation, be it internal or external, needs to be more important than the status quo of any given issue for change to come about. That is quite a profound statement and something that has been rolling around my head, and I have been challenging that concept in my own life. Well, I am now further convinced that the above statement is true, and wish I could find that article that I had read and go back to it. So here we are reading anything and everything on any given topic BUT none of it will be implemented until someone has the proper motivation or removes the “de-motivators”, I don’t even know if that is a word but what I mean are feelings or desires that over-ride the logic in our heads. So now that you have this profound statement, what do we do with it? You can’t tackle everything at once, I would suggest picking one area. Get out a sheet of paper, start jotting down pros and cons, whatever pops in your head, don’t think just write, usually sub-conscious thoughts come out when you are not thinking just “recording”. Once you have come up with the list, take a look at the list, now if you struggle in this area, your cons probably outweigh the pros. In the case where your cons outweigh the pros, you usually self-sabotage yourself along the way, hence no change happens. If you have any chance of change, the pros column has to outweigh the cons probably 4 to 1. Until you can find/see the lope-sidedness of your situation you won’t change, either consciously or sub-consciously. If you need help with the pros column, turn your worries into solutions, or recruit friends and family to help you brainstorm. An accountability partner is also very good to have, when working on implementing change.

~ by debt2dreams on January 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
