Recipe–Easy Swedish Meatballs

Made a great recipe yesterday, hadn’t made it in a long time and my 4 year old wanted meat balls. I had made spaghetti the day before and she was disappointed that it was meat sauce because she wanted meat balls. So I figured I could make meat balls anyway and make it a little different, since we already had red sauce the previous day. We had a great activity in the afternoon after my son got home from school. We made meat balls.

1lb to 1.5 lbs of Ground Chuck, hamburger, turkey, whatever you like
1/2C-1C bread crumbs (you may like more or less), I used italian flavored, that was in the pantry, if you don’t have bread crumbs, use stove top stuffing and add 1/4-1/2 C water to meat mixture)
2 eggs
1/4 C celery chopped (I had it so I threw it in, it isn’t necessary)
1/4 C onion chopped
Seasoning salt, garlic salt and pepper

Then came the fun part, my kids made the balls, after washing their hands of course, but their little hands are perfect for making them, a cookie dough scoop is also convenient. As they did that, I got to clean up the kitchen and get the noodles cooking and salad ready.

You pan fry the meatballs, until browned. Then I added a can of brown gravy or mushroom gravy, a can of cream of mushroom soup (had a roasted garlic can, very good), added that to meatballs (after draining grease off), then covered and let simmer, you may need a little water if gravy is too thick. I also had some sour cream left in the fridge that I threw in, you can do the same with cream cheese. They aren’t necessary, just if they need to be used up you can throw them in to make a richer sauce. Also if you have extra mushrooms in fridge you can throw those in the sauce. Mom says it isn’t Swedish meatballs if you don’t throw nutmeg in so this just may be meatballs in sauce because I didn’t want to add the nutmeg.

I didn’t have any egg noodles in the pantry, so I used elbow mac, any pasta in the pantry will work fine. Served with a salad and you have a great meal. Or just a veg side of some sort. If my parents didn’t come over for dinner I probably would have just had a can of corn, my son’s favorite.

~ by debt2dreams on April 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
