A technique to get past your “but” statements….

I was reading an article about exercise and how to help get you motivated to do things you don’t want to do. So of course I automatically made the leap to the money side of things. Money is a lot like eating right, time management and exercising….you know it is good for you but it is so easy to slide into bad habits. Funny thing once you get in the grove and master one of those components the others seem to fall into place as well. The article was talking about exercise and all the excuses that you can come up with not to exercise. They suggested writing your excuses on index cards, ie for money, I would love to pay down my debt but….I have all these expenses to pay. On the back of the card then brainstorm ways that you could fix the problem, or excuse. ie solutions, write down where your money is going, are there any expenses I can get rid of?, make my debt one of my payments every month. So when that excuse flies into your head, take one small tiny little action to move you towards eliminating that excuse. This is sort of along the lines of the passive barrier concept I had an entry on a few weeks back, figure out what is stopping you and knock that barrier down. When I was back in college, I remember some professor who always used to say, “I don’t want excuses, I want solutions, if you don’t have any solutions go find some and come back when you do, because I don’t listen to excuses.” Is that not a good way of looking at things? It is an easy way also to stop whining at home, at work, with your friends, it is pretty much universal in all aspects.

~ by debt2dreams on April 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
