A TV Fun Fact….a little shocking….

This little fun fact was shocking to read, but to understand that it has increased is even more amazing. I don’t know how in the world they monitor such things, but according to a Nielsen report, the average citizen tuned in to 151 hours of TV per month during the 4th quarter of 2008 up from 4th qtr 2007 when it was 145 hours.

Now that is a staggering amount of TV. Many say that there just isn’t enough time in the day to get everything done….myself included, then to look at this statistic; it is crazy to see that much time in front of the TV. I challenge you to do the following exercise with me. Let’s do a journal of TV watching that we do for a week and see how much we as an individual do really watch of TV. I believe I am below that average but I think the number will still be a bit staggering for me.

It sure was interesting and it will make me more aware of when I plop myself in front of the TV and if there could be something more productive I could be doing instead of vegging in front of the TV. There is the argument that we need this down time to chill out, again myself included, but at least it makes us aware of how much time we are truly “Chilling”.

~ by debt2dreams on March 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
