An Exercise you really need to do to get through 2009

So I was reading the Brilliant Carat Newsletter by Simon Bailey. And he had suggested doing something to get out of the funk that 2009 is bringing to a lot of people. I figured I would try it and see what happens. Well it has already helped me to face some issues and deal with them, it has calmed my fears about 2009 and it has motivated me on some goals that I have been shoving to the side. Your next question is, what exercise can do all that for you? It is very basic actually and I was a little skeptical, but I did it and now have reviewed it once per morning for 3 days straight now, it wouldn’t hurt to have it with you to re-read throughout the day if necessary.

Okay so here is this exercise, it almost sounds too easy, too simple to actually relieve stress and motivate you. What you need to do is get a piece of paper out and write the date of today….in 2010, ie Feb 21, 2010. Now what you are going to do is write a letter about how your 2009 went, all the worries, make them come out the way you want them to. Ie, my husband is still at XXXXX and doing fine, no lay-off’s, Thank God! I went through all the things that were stressing me out, it could be with money, health, relationships, whatever is weighing you down. As I was writing it really was empowering to put an ending to our own stories. Now I don’t think it is reasonable to put that you will win the lottery, but you can write down that you achieved whatever attainable goal you had set for 2009. ie, I wrote, I did achieve my 10% reduction of liabilities in 2009 so now I am working on 11% for 2010 and so far for 2010 I am on target for that larger amount. And by reading it everyday and potentially throughout the day(when needed) it keeps you focused on the idea of “this to shall pass”, and of keeping on track with the goals that you have set for yourself in 2009.

If anyone else does this, let us know how it works for you.

~ by debt2dreams on February 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
