How to just say no….to buying more stuff…

In our society we are constantly surrounded by brilliant marketers that are trying to pull our money right out of our pockets. How can we stop the madness of always wanting(or in our justifying heads “needing”) something? I was reading an article in the Motley Fool about how to live below your means and it had some meaningful stuff in it, one thing I found interesting, and it was along the same lines and somewhat like the concept of a media vacation(the one that can lift your mood by not watching depressing news reports), well you can enhance that mood and at the same time block out those dreadful advertisers that rope us into thinking we have to have their product to survive. Here are some other tips that were given regarding “just say no” to the marketers.

Throw away catalogs without reading them.
Don’t watch commercials on television.
Don’t read the adverts in the weekly paper.
Don’t hang out in shopping areas for recreation.

These tips make sense, think about how many times you have gone in a store and come out with much more than you were planning to spend, well the store did it’s job, it parted us from our money. Hence, I have learned to stay away from the store as much as possible, and when I do go, I only have the specific list and can only buy from that list. If I find something I believe I need, then I just have to put it on the list, after I get home, for next time. 8 out of 10 times, it never gets on the list.

~ by debt2dreams on February 18, 2009.

One Response to “How to just say no….to buying more stuff…”

  1. “think about how many times you have gone in a store and come out with much more than you were planning to spend, well the store did it’s job, it parted us from our money.” – this happens to me every time I shop!!! My husband says we just need to start carrying cash although I think this is impossible. How are you going to know your total cost?
    The best way I know is to stay out of the stores – particularly Target – I get in trouble every time!! I can spend $20 alone in their $1 bins at the front of the store. It just goes downhill from there usually!

Leave a Reply

 
