Do you have a fear of money, or the fear of dealing with money?

Do you have a fear of money?  Or a fear of succeeding with money?  Or a fear of dealing with money?  I find it a funny thing in our society that I believe all three of these questions for most people is a resounding “YES”.  You may chuckle at the questions and say, “Of course I am not afraid of money, I love money, I wish I had more money!”  But is that really the case?  Seriously now, I am just not being funny.  What would you do if you had as much money as you would need to live, retire, do whatever you wanted to do?  That is a hard question to answer.  Now when you sit down by yourself or with your spouse and contemplate this very serious question, don’t consider how will I get there, just figure out what you want to do.  This is a fundamental change from society.   My husband and I sat down years ago and we discussed what we really wanted, the answer, that I stay home to have children.   That became our goal, to get me retired from Corporate America and be able to stay home with our children.  We had a 5 year plan to do just that, but once we were committed to that goal, we were able to do it in 3.   Well we have been floundering, granted bettering our financial situation but not focused like we were when we had the “plan” to get me retired.  It wasn’t enough to say, just to get me retired, I knew the reason for my retirement, to take care of our children.  I believe when there is enough motivation behind something, it can be achieved.  That famous cliche, “When there is a will, there is a way”, is completely true.  We as a society, I would say for the last 50 years or so have become consumers, we want this and we want that, things, material things, we work hard we deserve this or that.  Staying up with the Jones.  Strip all that away, yes we all have our wants, but once a goal becomes focused, those wants fade compared to our fundamental goal.  I dare you to dig deep and figure out what you really want, don’t be scared.  How would I fill my days?  Would it fulfill me?  How can I change the world?  What am I passionate about?  What gets me fired up?  Those are some hefty questions.  Once you have figured that out, come see me, I can help you make it happen.  This is a start to a Goal Setting series I will be doing, but the first hurdle is not HOW to get there? (that is the easy part) but WHAT do I truly want, until you figure out that essential piece, you will just be chugging along with the rest of society.  Once you do figure out the “it”, then I can help you.  Don’t believe me?  Test the theory.

~ by debt2dreams on November 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
